WRITING CHRONICLE #21: The Liebster Blog Award

Via: Daily Prompt – Blossom & Bottle

liebster-awards-discover-new-blogsc3a8

So! I have been nominated for the Liebster [Blog] Award and I thank Louise Brady over at DRAGONSPIRE UK for it. Louise’s blog has a host of wonderful stories and TV show reviews that fantasy lovers would relish. There are also these little anecdotes from her personal experiences as a writer and editorial intern that aspiring authors may find useful – I know I gained new perspectives from them. Thank you, Louise, for both the nomination and the camaraderie.

The Liebster Award is a fellowship of chain-nomination that encourages bloggers to keep up the good work and flourish, helps readers to discover new blogs and learn more about their writer(s), and foster… fellowship among bloggers. You can learn more about the award from the link above but, here, allow me to move on to the responsibilities that goes with accepting the nomination, i.e. the rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog – Done.

2. Answer the 11 questions the person asked you – Well, here goes… 

(i) Fanfiction: Do you approve or disapprove of it? If you write it, should you keep it separate from your original author writing or shout about it?
I have mixed feelings about this. Obviously, some authors/screenwriters do a good job of retaining the charms of the original work but this is rare. But I totally understand the need of fans for continuation. Case in point, I LOVED Clueless and Lost in Austen!

(ii) Do you have any pets? If yes, what are they, and how do they help/hinder your writing? If no, what would be your ideal pet?
IMG_1295I have a cat even though I always principally disliked them and favored dogs. Her name is Mucky. She is part of a set of abandoned kittens we found in our guest room – abandoned because my mother unwittingly touched them when she discovered them, leaving her human smell on their tiny week-old bodies. To read the full story of this misadventure and unexpected bond, please read my earlier post Pet People. When Mucky is not busy being all cute and distracting, she can be a comforting companion on those intensive nightlong writing frenzies.

(iii) What was the first story that inspired you to write? Why should we read/watch it?
I really can’t remember any particular story, as in fiction, that turned me towards writing. I know that my eight grade teacher Mrs. Anger honed my love for literature and praised my writing, which motivated me to become a writer in earnest. I wrote about her, too, in a previous blog The Teacher, lol.
However, I figured my genre would be Romance after I dared to read my first romance novel – I previously shied away from the bodice ripping covers – at the “appropriate” age of 19, which was Love Beyond Reason by Sandra Brown. It was not a bodice ripper although I have read plenty of those since also. Love Beyond Reason is a feel-good romance that restores your faith in love. I think I wanted to write romances after that because of how good I felt when I was finished reading it.

(iv) If you could have or achieve any one thing this year, what would it be? (Writing or otherwise!)
BAD DAUGHTERClock in enough work time DAILY to really launch myself as an author. Like market my book Bad Daughter enough to get more people to read and review it. And finish editing my series beginner I’ll Be True to re-release it, this time as a book. And if I’m really ambitious, finish the first draft of the second book in the series. And, yes, though they are three separate activities, they are part and parcel of the same annual objective.

(v) Do you have a day job in addition to writing, or is writing your day job?
Professional Procrastination is my day job at the moment. After running the corporate race for a decade, I officially took an indefinite hiatus to write full time – and ended up getting busy with lazying about, watching TV series and movies or reading.

(vi) If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? Bonus points for pretty pictures.
Greece! I have always been fascinated with Greek Mythology and its ancient civilizations. In fact, I would love to own a holiday home there some day – sandy shores, beautiful architecture, delicious food, gorgeous people. What more inspiration could a romance writer ask for?

Untitled design

(vii) Who is your favorite heroic character? What makes them special?
Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice. Because she lived in the Georgian era and still braved to mouth off both Mr. Darcy and Lady de Bourgh but within limits of civility. And because she wasn’t written by any author living in the feminist comfort of our modern securities but by the daughter of a Puritan reverend.

(viii) Do you write every day, ad hoc, or have a different schedule?
I wish to write every day. Reality is far less productive.

(ix) What do you find most challenging about writing? Why?
Starting. If I can just push myself to open up a document and start typing, I can get into the flow of writing. But some mental restraint gets in the way. It might be the fear of completion, that the details of the story might not be as good as it seems in my head, and then what. Also, the knowledge that building an author platform from the various logistical obstacles presented by my current country of residence does hinder my diligence.

(x) Who is your favorite villain? Why are they so nefarious?
3895455Iago from Othello. His sheer cunning ability to weave discord between the best of friends and lovers. His double-edged nature to present others as the villain by talking them down even as he talks himself up. Put him in the position of political power in the modern world and we will have WWIII in one week.

(xi) If you could have two fictional characters brought to life, who would you choose and why?
This is a toughy! Hercules (very much a la mode Kevin Sorbo) and Albus Dumbledore. To clean up the mess our world leaders and their antagonists have put us in.

3. Nominate 11 people (comment on their blog to let them know) – Time to pay it forward.

J. Rusolo Ward – For the most awesome fantasy supernatural thrillers ever!

WRITE ALLY! WRITE! – Because she has the sweetest poems.

Mum’s the Word Blog – Heartwarming stories about life that inspire you to live completely.

Sascha Darlington’s Microcosm Explored – To receive excellent reports on upcoming novels.

susiespinions – A woman who always has her game face on while reviewing a smorgasbord of products.

witchlike – As the name says, for a dish of the odds and ends of magic.

Inner Whispers – To view some really cool photos.

Arrow & Dot – A new kid on the block.

The Inkwell – He does poetry and photography; they are real pretty.

The Curious Archaeologist – For Regency/Victorian-lovers and Janeites.

Bespectacled Imp – Some pretty nice short stories.

4. Ask the people you have nominated 11 questions – Here are mine…

(i) When creative writing, do you completely rely on your imagination or lift off from real life or both? If both, how much of which?

(ii) In fiction, what is more important to you – plots or characters? Please elaborate.

(iii) Which author/writer do you most wish to emulate in your work and why?

(iv) If you could be any fictional character, who would you be and why? Non-human characters are also welcome.

(v) Which medium/platform(s) do you rely on to find out about the latest books, read book reviews, etc.?

(vi) How do you really feel about romance novels?

(vii) What are your most and least favorite things about blogging? Why?

(viii) Which of your blog posts is your personal favorite and why?

(ix) What would be your perfect day?

(x) What was your favorite subject in school and why?

(xi) If it were up to you, what would you add to the school curriculum/syllabus for future generations? Why?

 

Nominees, please follow the instructions/award rules in bold green text if you accept.

Well, I’m really looking forward to my nominees answers. Feel free to uncork yourself. No pressure on question vi :p

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by susiesopinions on June 18, 2017 - 7:36 pm

    Congratulations on receiving this award, and I will do my best to accept it. I have at least 20, and think I only manage 3 or 4.

    • #2 by lupa08 on June 18, 2017 - 7:44 pm

      Thanks! 🙂
      Well, good for you. They do require some heavy-duty contemplation.

  2. #3 by susiesopinions on June 19, 2017 - 1:19 am

    Sure do

  3. #4 by tiredmindtypingfingers on June 19, 2017 - 9:13 am

    Congrats on the award and your book, I’ll check it out! 🙂

    • #5 by lupa08 on June 19, 2017 - 9:45 am

      Thanks! Readers and reviewers are always welcome! 😊

  4. #6 by Louise@DragonspireUK on June 20, 2017 - 9:04 pm

    I loved reading your answers 🙂
    Your cat is so cute!
    I’m also on hiatus to write full time! Isn’t TV distracting? 🙂
    Ahh Greece, so pretty! Never been myself, but I’d like to: Anything with beautiful architecture is a big inspiration!

    • #7 by lupa08 on June 20, 2017 - 9:17 pm

      Thank you.
      And thank you even more! I’ll let her know, lol.😃
      TV is soooo distracting. I try to tell myself it’s research but who am I kidding?
      Greeks are also obviously excellent storytellers 😉

  5. #8 by jrusoloward on June 21, 2017 - 3:29 am

    Congratulations! And thank you! I always enjoy reading snippets about the lady behind the blog!

    • #9 by lupa08 on June 21, 2017 - 12:21 pm

      Aww… Thanks! I enjoyed sharing them! 😃

  1. The Liebster Blog Award
  2. New Book Release – Vijaya Gowrisankar – “Savour – Art and Poetry meet” – An Exquisite Collection of Art & Poetry | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment